An independent, neutral review of every elevation, datum, survey, plan, certificate, email and meeting in the project record that bears on vertical control, flood risk and plan coordination at 25 Aria Isle — with what is confirmed, what is only asserted, what conflicts, and what is missing.
Each rod plots the values exactly as they appear in their source documents. The rods are drawn to one scale but deliberately not aligned: the record contains no surveyed tie between them. The red band is the FIS 0.2 %‑annual‑chance water surface at Panther Branch cross‑section Q (≈130.0 ft NAVD88, three readings 129.9–130.15).
Three vertical reference systems are in use on this lot, and no signed document ties them together. Rod P ("brass disk found 130.95", Precision Surveyors 2023; no datum named) carries the arch R3 site plan (FF 133.5) and the Dunaway civil C1.0 (133.2 / garages 132.5). Rod D (NGS BL1169 = 121.76, "NAVD88 1991 adj") carries the DaRam 2025 topo and arch R2. Rod S (NGS BL1164 = 166.7, "NAVD 1988, 2001 Adjustment") is the STS elevation certificate signed 27 Aug 2026. FACT
The two cut‑X values, 127.56 and 129.69, are the same physical mark in two systems. The R2 sheet reproduces four of Precision's labelled points — cut‑X, manhole rim, gutter, top of curb — each exactly 2.13 ft lower: a uniform shift, not a re‑measurement. Whether the mark survived site clearing is unknown. FACT CALC MISSING
The recorded subdivision plat declares its own benchmark on an old datum: "3" brass disc … stamped 'ESL‑16 R1', ELEV. = 134.92' (NAVD 29, 64 ADJ.)" (Cab. Z Sh. 8621‑8623, recorded 24 May 2022). This is the first documentary support for the field claim that "Woodlands" control differs from current NAVD88. Whether the 130.95 disk is that monument is not established. FACT MISSING
The certificate's benchmark value and datum label do not match each other. NGS publishes BL1164 = 166.7 ft as its current GPS‑derived height (epoch 2010.00, with a land‑subsidence warning); NGS's 2001 value for the same mark is 51.05 m = 167.49 ft. FEMA's instructions say that where subsidence exists "the most recent reference mark elevations must be used" — so the value may be defensible, but the label, the 8.7‑mile transfer method, and any second‑mark check are undocumented. FACT CONFLICT
On the certificate's own numbers the flood margins are small and sit inside the datum uncertainty. Against a 0.2 % level of ≈130.0 (129.9–130.15), the certified floor (130.5) is 0.35–0.6 ft above, the garage slab (130.3) 0.15–0.4 ft above, and ground at the building (129.0) is below it. The county's 2‑ft‑above‑BFE condition (BFE 128.3 / 128.0) is met by the house by 0.2–0.5 ft and by the garage by 0.0–0.3 ft — valid only if the EC datum is the FIS datum. CALC
The implied offsets between systems disagree, so at least one number is not what it is assumed to be. Design‑to‑EC implies P − S ≈ 3.0 ft if the forms sit at "133.5 (P)"; road‑centreline comparisons imply 2.2–2.8; DaRam‑to‑EC road difference is only 0.4–0.6. Nobody has recorded which benchmark Keystone used to set the forms. CALC CONFLICT MISSING
No HOA / ESDC / Woodlands document disputes any survey elevation or states a required slab elevation. The written ESDC condition is "chimney must have a decorative cap" (3/9/2026); the guideline says "Slab elevation must be verified with lot grading plan" — a plan not in the record. Every "the HOA insists on its markers" statement traces to one builder, Steven Hanson (Ultimate Homes USA), describing his own project at 71 Aria Isle. FACT STMT
Plans still disagree with each other: arch R3 FF 133.5 vs civil 133.2; civil garage 132.5 vs no garage elevation on the arch site plan; both sit in the HOA‑approved package. No written reconciliation from Dunaway, Allen Bianchi or STS exists. Structural REV 4 (25 Aug 2026) carries no absolute elevation. FACT MISSING
The flood‑map classification is unambiguous: the building coordinate is in shaded Zone X (0.2 % area, not the SFHA); the AE / BFE‑128 polygon is ≈140 ft from the front‑centre coordinate and closer to the rear of the house; the county permit itself recites "Flood Insurance Zone AE, X SHADED" and the 100‑ft / 2‑ft condition. Whether that condition binds is the Floodplain Administrator's call. FACT
One instrument loop on one stated datum resolves this. An RPLS reads — in a single closed traverse — the STS TBM, the 130.95 disk, the cut‑X (if it survives), plat monument ESL‑16 R1 (if recoverable), the house form corners, the garage forms, the road centreline and the 71 Aria Isle curb X, with the benchmark PID, published value and epoch held, method and closure written on the sheet. Then three written determinations: surveyor, civil engineer, floodplain administrator.
Scroll sideways on narrow screens. "Status" is about the document: confirmed as drawn/certified does not mean the value is right for construction.
| # | Issue | Value | Exact source | Physical point / meaning | Datum & benchmark stated | Existing / proposed | Status | Conflicting evidence | Missing | Who resolves |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cut‑X (R2) | 127.56 | Arch R2 A1.1 (ILA / Isaac Levy, 9/8/2024); same sheet in HOA forward 1/30/2025 | Cut X at SW corner by Wind Whistle Path circle, next to capped iron rod at the P.R.C.; manhole 128.53, gutter 126.78, TC 127.06 beside it | "Based on NGS data sheet BL1169 elevation = 121.76 feet NAVD88" | Existing (2024 sheet) | confirmed as drawn R2 superseded | Same mark = 129.69 (row 2) | Survey R2 was traced from | Architect (ILA) + DaRam |
| 2 | Cut‑X (R3 / Precision / civil) | 129.69 | Precision Surveyors topo, Job 23‑01057, 2/24/2023 rev 3/23/2023, R. S. Willett RPLS 4615; arch R3 A1.1; Dunaway C1.0 "Elevation Information" | Same SW‑corner cut X (identical neighbours: manhole 130.66, gutter 128.91, TC 129.19) | "Elevations are based on brass disk found with elevation 130.95" — no datum | Existing (2023) | confirmed as drawn | 127.56 — difference 2.13 at four identical points | Disk datum; whether X still exists | Surveyor (Precision / STS) |
| 3 | Brass disk | 130.95 | Precision topo note; STS Lot 11 survey 19661_survey_r1.pdf (Job 1638‑23, 10/31/2023, F. W. Lawton RPLS 2321) "TBM FND. BRASS DISK ELEV.=130.95" east of Aria Isle Dr. opposite Lot 11 | Brass disk near the road several lots north of Lot 4; monument not described | None stated on either document | Existing | provenance unresolved | Plat benchmark ESL‑16 R1 = 134.92 (NAVD 29, 64 adj.) — different value; may be a different monument | Description, setter, stamping, datum | STS + plat surveyor (Jones|Carter) / LJA |
| 4 | Plat benchmark | 134.92 | Recorded plat Sec 16 Replat No 1, Sheet 3 note (DOC# 2022067239; 3/1/2022, rec. 5/24/2022; Jones|Carter, R. B. Tarasiewicz RPLS 6575) — sent by Steven Hanson 8/6/2026 with 3 phone screenshots of this note | 3" brass disc in 6" concrete column 3' deep, flush with natural ground, stamped "ESL‑16 R1"; location not identified on sheets reviewed | "(NAVD 29, 64 ADJ.)" — apparently NGVD 1929, 1964 adjustment, wording as printed | Existing (2022) | confirmed as recorded tie to NAVD88 unknown | — | Location, recovery, NAVD88 value | RPLS (STS) |
| 5 | Road centreline (EC) | 127.0 | EC form p.3, Section D comments | Some point on the road centreline — location not stated | NAVD 1988 "2001 Adjustment"; BL1164 = 166.7 | Existing | certified location unresolved | Precision C.R. 129.19–129.76; DaRam CL 127.36–127.59 | Where shot | STS |
| 6 | Residence FF (civil) | 133.2 | Dunaway C1.0 Drainage Plan REV 0, sealed K. J. Breckon PE 73425, 6/11/2025; same sheet in HOA package 3/9/2026 | Design finished floor | Implicit Rod P (TBM 129.69). The "(NAVD 1988, 2001 ADJUSTMENT)" line sits under Base Flood Information and describes the FEMA panel | Proposed | conflicts with row 7 | Arch 133.5 | Written reconciliation | Civil engineer (Dunaway) |
| 7 | Residence FF (arch) | 133.5 | Arch R3 A1.1 (Allen Bianchi Architects; "FOR PERMIT R3", 1/23/2026) | Design finished floor | Implicit Rod P ("brass disk 130.95") | Proposed | conflicts with row 6 | Civil 133.2 | Which governs; garage FF | Architect + civil |
| 8 | Garage FF (civil) | 132.5 | Dunaway C1.0 (both garages) | Design top of garage slab | Rod P (implicit) | Proposed | confirmed as drawn | Arch A1.1 shows none; EC garage 130.3 is 2.2 below (house: 3.0) | Arch garage elevation; what forms were set to | Architect + civil |
| 9 | EC top of bottom floor | 130.5 | EC p.3, C2.a | FEMA: "top of the bottom floor" (Diagram 1B); building "Under Construction" → in practice the top of form INFER | NAVD 1988 "2001 Adjustment"; BL1164 = 166.7 | As‑built form (8/25 visit) or plan value converted — not stated | meaning unresolved | Design 133.5 / 133.2 | What was shot; whether any value was "per plans" | STS (Fred F. Lawton RPLS 5530) |
| 10 | EC garage slab | 130.3 | EC p.3, C2.d | Lowest top of attached garage slab (form) | as row 9 | as row 9 | meaning unresolved | Civil 132.5 → 2.2; "133.5 − 2 in" → 3.0 (assumption) | as row 9 | STS |
| 11 | EC LAG / HAG | 129.0 / 129.3 | EC p.3, C2.f / C2.g, "Natural" checked | Lowest / highest ground next to building at time of survey; lot was cleared and levelled by KGW in July | as row 9 | Existing (graded) | "natural" doubtful | Precision NG 131.9–132.3; DaRam 130.0–130.4; KGW target ≈132.0 | Pre‑ vs post‑grading | STS |
| 12 | 71 Aria Isle curb TBM | 127.99 / 128.68 | DaRam survey of Lot 13 (B. D. Adkins RPLS 6137, 1/18/2026), from Steven Hanson 8/6/2026 | X on curb in the 71 Aria Isle circular drive (≈1,100 ft from Lot 4 per Kanti; not measured here); X on wall | No benchmark or datum on the sheet; DaRam's Lot 4 topo used BL1169 / 121.76 | Existing | confirmed as drawn | Compared by S. Hanson to the 130.95 disk ("2.98 ft") — different points | DaRam's written control statement (asked 8/6, 8/12; no answer) | DaRam (Chris / Barry Adkins) |
| 13 | Orange curb paint | 130.05 | Photograph cited in Kanti's 7/27 memo; quoted by S. Hanson 7/31 | Unknown author, point, datum | None | Existing | unverified | — | Who painted it, from what | STS / Keystone / KGW |
| 14 | KGW pad target | ≈132.0 | KGW subcontract; Scott Lowe email 6/24/2026 ("FF 133.5, natural grade averaging 132.0, no pad needed") | Rough‑grade target | Rod P (implicit) | Proposed / as‑graded | confirmed as contracted | EC HAG 129.3 | As‑graded survey | KGW / STS |
| 15 | BL1164 published height | 166.7 (50.82 m) | NGS datasheet, retrieved 8/27/2026 16:19 EDT | Disk "L 1149 1959", 1.4 mi S of Conroe; 8.74 mi from the lot | NAVD88 current, GPS OBS, epoch 2010.00; "area of suspected vertical motion — validate before use"; superseded: 167.49 (12/03/2001), 166.99 (2021), 166.93 (2022), 167.80 (1991 leveling; NGVD29 1987) | — | confirmed | EC label "2001 Adjustment" ≠ 2001 value | Transfer method; validation | STS |
| 16 | BL1169 published height | not published | NGS datasheet, retrieved 8/27/2026 16:20 EDT | Disk in railroad culvert headwall 5.1 mi S of Conroe; 5.01 mi from the lot; last recovered 2005; stamping "R 88 1932 122.631" | Suppressed (SE Texas action, 2021); NGS "discourages" superseded heights | — | confirmed | DaRam / R2 use 121.76 "1991 adj" | Source of 121.76 | DaRam |
| 17 | FEMA zone at building | X (shaded) | NFHL layer 28 at −95.476525, 30.1641083 (EC A5 converted), 8/27/2026 | Front‑centre of house: "0.2 PCT ANNUAL CHANCE FLOOD HAZARD", SFHA_TF = F, no static BFE | NAVD88 (FIRM) | — | confirmed | — | Footprint‑level (rear) determination | RPLS / Floodplain Administrator |
| 18 | Nearest SFHA | AE, BFE 128.0 | NFHL layer 28 with geometry CALC | Nearest AE edge ≈ 42.6 m = 140 ft from the coordinate; floodway ≈ 296 ft; rear of house closer | NAVD88 | — | confirmed (GIS) | Permit lists "AE, X SHADED" | Surveyed distance from the footprint | RPLS |
| 19 | 1 % WSEL (detailed) | 128.3 | NFHL layer 14; FIS Vol. 5 panel 316P — Panther Branch XS Q, station 35,154 | Lake Woodlands reach | NAVD88 | — | confirmed | FIRM label "EL 128" | — | Floodplain Administrator (which governs) |
| 20 | 0.2 % WSEL | ≈130.0 | FIS profile 316P (graph reading ±0.2); DaRam note 130.15; Faisal Awad 129.9 (8/4/2026) | Water surface at XS Q | NAVD88 (FIS) | — | range confirmed; exact value needs an engineer | Three readings span 0.25 ft | Certified site‑specific value | Civil engineer / County |
| 21 | County condition | BFE + 2 ft | Development Permit SP‑0055704‑26, 3/26/2026, p.1 | "If any portion of the structure falls within 100 feet of the Special Flood Hazard Area, the entire structure must be elevated 2 feet above Base Flood Elevation." | — | — | confirmed as printed | 2014 regulation text online says one foot; county FAQ says two | Written applicability determination | Montgomery County Floodplain Administration |
| 22 | Permit clock | ≈ 9/22/2026 | Same permit p.1: "expires … if the actual start of construction (pouring of slab) does not occur within 180 days" | 3/26/2026 + 180 days CALC | — | — | confirmed as printed | — | County's view of "start" | Permit Department |
| 23 | HOA condition | — | ESDC Form D5 (K. Anderson, 3/9/2026): "CONDITIONALLY APPROVED — Chimney must have a decorative Cap"; D7 "subject to already approved variance(s)" | — | — | — | confirmed | Kanti's 7/27 memo attributes a "top‑of‑slab … Aria Isle Grading Plan" condition — not found on the approval | The lot grading plan | ESDC / KAACM |
| 24 | HOA guideline | — | Aria Isle Supplemental Design Guidelines 4/12/2024 §2.5.B(2), §2.4.E, §4.3.C | "Slab elevation must be verified with lot grading plan"; pre‑concrete ESDC inspection ≥ 24 h notice; height "from natural grade to the highest point of the roof … shall not exceed forty (40') feet" | — | — | confirmed | — | The lot grading plan | ESDC / KAACM / Howard Hughes |
| Point | Rod P (Precision / R3 / civil) | Rod D (R2 / DaRam) | Difference | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cut‑X, SW corner | 129.69 | 127.56 | 2.13 | R2 A1.1 vs Precision / R3 A1.1 |
| Manhole rim by cut‑X | 130.66 | 128.53 | 2.13 | same sheets |
| Gutter by cut‑X | 128.91 | 126.78 | 2.13 | same sheets |
| Top of curb by cut‑X | 129.19 | 127.06 | 2.13 | same sheets |
| Natural ground at capped iron rod | 130.6 | 128.5 | 2.10 | one‑decimal values |
INFER A four‑point identical 2.13 shift is the signature of a computed re‑basing, not independent re‑levelling. DaRam's own 3/23/2025 shots give a different picture nearby (road CL 127.36–127.59 vs Precision 129.19–129.76 → 1.6–2.4 ft; natural ground 130.0–130.4 vs 131.9–132.3 → 1.5–2.3 ft). The 2.13 is a drawing relationship; the field relationship P↔D has never been surveyed as such.
| Comparison | Implied P − S | Caveat |
|---|---|---|
| Arch FF 133.5 vs EC top of bottom floor 130.5 | 3.00 | Only if Keystone set the house forms at "133.5 (P)". Not documented. |
| Civil FF 133.2 vs EC 130.5 | 2.70 | Only if forms were set to the civil value. |
| Civil garage 132.5 vs EC garage 130.3 | 2.20 | Non‑uniform with the house — a datum offset should be uniform; either forms ≠ civil or the two EC readings are not both "top of form". |
| Arch garage (133.5 − 2 in = 133.33, an assumption) vs 130.3 | 3.03 | Uniform with the house only under that assumption; not shown on A1.1. |
| Precision road CL 129.19–129.76 vs EC road CL 127.0 | 2.2–2.8 | EC point location unknown. |
| DaRam road CL 127.36–127.59 vs EC 127.0 | D − S ≈ 0.4–0.6 | Of the order of a 1991‑adj vs current‑epoch difference (0.8 ft at BL1164), but not a measurement. |
What cannot be converted from the record. 130.95 (disk) → NAVD88: no conversion exists; the disk's datum is unrecorded. 134.92 (plat monument, "NAVD 29, 64 ADJ.") → NAVD88: none; the FIS gives NGVD29→NAVD88 as only 0.007 ft in Montgomery County, but a 1964‑adjustment value also embeds ~60 years of site‑specific subsidence. 133.5 / 133.2 / 132.5 → NAVD88: not possible without a surveyed tie. The "3.0 ft" now circulating is an inference from the EC, not a surveyed offset, and it conflicts with the road‑centreline offsets (2.2–2.8). BL1164 label vs value: 167.49 (2001) − 166.7 (used) = 0.79 ft at the benchmark; whether the same difference applies 14 km away in a differential‑subsidence area is unknown.
In the Houston region it denotes the 2001 GPS/levelling readjustment of the subsidence‑affected network — the epoch of the FEMA/TSARP maps. For BL1164 the NGS line for that epoch is "NAVD 88 (12/03/01) 51.05 m … GEOID99 … GPS OBS" = 167.49 ft. The EC used 166.7 ft, NGS's current height (50.82 m, epoch 2010.00, "determined with an earlier geoid model"). Two readings remain open and the record cannot choose: (i) STS held the current value and mis‑labelled the datum; (ii) STS intended a 2001‑epoch value and mis‑copied the number. FEMA's C2 instruction — "For property experiencing ground subsidence, the most recent reference mark elevations must be used … the BFE should not be adjusted" — favours using the current value, but that is FEMA's rule, not evidence of what STS did.
Transfer over 8.7 miles: nothing in the record says whether STS levelled, used RTK/OPUS (FEMA asks for the CORS/RTN and an OPUS report), or carried through intermediate marks; no closure, no second‑mark check, no description of the on‑site TBM paid for on 8/24. MISSING
FEMA Form FF‑206‑FY‑22‑152 (8/23). Instructions verified from the identical form mirrored by UCLS (fema.gov returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval on 8/27/2026).
| Item | Entry | Instruction / expectation | Finding |
|---|---|---|---|
| A1 Owner's name | blank | Required | incomplete Title holder is Arjun Shiva Investments LP. |
| A5 Lat / long | 30°9'50.79"N 95°28'35.49"W NAD83 | "centre of the front of the building" | = 30.1641083, −95.476525; matches the FEMA query point. Whether it is the front‑centre of the forms: unverified. |
| A6 Photos | Front 08/25/2026; rear / right / left 07/12/2026 | "taken within 90 days … must show the foundation" | within 90 days but three of four predate the forms and show bare ground and silt fence. |
| A7 Diagram | 1B | 1A slab‑on‑grade; 1B raised slab / slab‑on‑stem‑wall‑with‑fill | Structural slab on 6" carton void forms over grade beams and helical piles. Certifier's call; revisit on the final EC. |
| A9.a Garage area | N/A | "Provide the square footage of the attached garage … If there is no attached garage, enter N/A" | inconsistent C2.d gives an attached‑garage slab elevation while A9.a says N/A (plans: 900 + 561 sq ft). |
| B1–B5, B7, B8 | Montgomery County Uninc. 480483; 48339C0540H; 08/18/2014; X‑SHADED | — | consistent with NFHL |
| B6 FIRM index date | blank | Required | incomplete (8/18/2014) |
| B9 / B10 / B11 | blank | BFE where provided; B11 = datum shown on the FIRM legend | Blank BFE is acceptable for shaded X, but B11 is required (NAVD88); given the county's 100‑ft condition the AE BFE (128.0 / 128.3) could be cited in comments. |
| C1 | Building Under Construction | "include only those elevations that can be surveyed … Use the Comments area … to provide elevations obtained from the construction plans" | The product purchased was "Elevation Certificate per Construction Plans"; which values were field‑shot vs taken from plans is not stated. |
| C2 benchmark / datum | BL1164; 166.7; "NAVD 1988, 2001 ADJUSTMENT"; conversion: No | "must use the same datum on which the BFE is based … For property experiencing ground subsidence, the most recent reference mark elevations must be used" | label ≠ value; no OPUS / RTN / loop information. |
| C2.a / C2.d | 130.5 / 130.3 | Top of bottom floor; lowest top of attached garage slab | See evidence rows 9–10. |
| C2.e M&E | N/A — "no AC unit pad at time of survey" | Required at finished construction | Survey on the final EC: HVAC, electrical service, generator, pool equipment, elevator machine / sump. |
| C2.f / C2.g | 129.0 / 129.3 "Natural" | "Natural grade means the undisturbed natural surface … prior to any excavation or fill"; for buildings under construction, LAG "at the time of the survey" | "natural" doubtful — lot cleared and levelled in July. |
| D | Fred F. Lawton, RPLS 5530, STSA, 8/27/2026, seal; Job 1596.26EC | — | properly executed Earlier STS work was by Fred W. Lawton (RPLS 2321). |
To be re‑measured on the finished‑construction EC: top of finished floor (not form), garage slab, every M&E platform, finished LAG/HAG, deck/stair LAG, and — because the lot straddles AE and shaded X — the surveyed relationship of the footprint to the AE boundary; complete A1, A9.a, B6, B11 and reconcile the datum label with the value held.
Classification, precisely. The Special Flood Hazard Area is the mapped 1 %‑annual‑chance floodplain (Zones A/AE). Shaded Zone X is the mapped area between the 1 % and 0.2 % floodplains: outside the SFHA, inside the 0.2 %‑annual‑chance area. "Outside the SFHA" says nothing about being above the 0.2 % water surface; the FIS delineates the 0.2 % boundary "to indicate additional areas of flood risk" (Vol. 1 §4.1).
| Element | EC | vs 0.2 % (129.9 / 130.0 / 130.15) | vs 128.3 + 2 | vs 128.0 + 2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Top of bottom floor | 130.5 | +0.6 / +0.5 / +0.35 | +0.2 | +0.5 |
| Garage slab | 130.3 | +0.4 / +0.3 / +0.15 | 0.0 | +0.3 |
| LAG (ground) | 129.0 | −0.9 / −1.0 / −1.15 | — | — |
| Lowest M&E | — | not yet surveyed | — | — |
Safety margin: cannot be stated reliably. The margin (0.15–0.6 ft) is smaller than the unresolved datum uncertainty (0.79 ft at BL1164 alone; 2.2–3.0 ft spread in implied offsets). If the EC is on the FIS datum, the floor is inches above the 0.2 % level; if the EC is on a later, lower realization, the same floor reads ≈0.8 ft higher on the FIS datum. The surveyor's statement of the value/epoch held, plus a check on a second NGS "valid height" mark, separates the two.
Map location vs physical elevation vs insurance. Shaded X → no federal mandatory‑purchase requirement; NFIP Risk Rating 2.0 and private carriers rate on the building's actual first‑floor height, distance to water and the EC's numbers, not the zone label. A finished‑construction EC on the FIS datum is what an insurer reads — the datum question also affects premiums. County standard. Permit SP‑0055704‑26 prints the condition ("within 100 feet of the SFHA → entire structure elevated 2 feet above BFE"); the county FAQ says the same; the July‑2014 regulation text found online says one foot (apparently superseded). Applicability, the governing BFE (128.0 vs 128.3), and treatment of the garage are determinations for the Montgomery County Floodplain Administrator (501 N. Thompson, Conroe · 936‑539‑7836). The permit also requires the slab pour to start within 180 days of 3/26/2026 (≈ 9/22/2026).
| Discipline | Set intended for construction | Elevation content | Datum | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Architectural | "FOR PERMIT R3" (Allen Bianchi, 1/23/2026; 12‑pp subset = Crown Exhibit D1) | A1.1: FF 133.5; brass disk 130.95; cut‑X 129.69 | Rod P, unnamed | Final per project record; garage FF not on A1.1 |
| Civil / drainage | Dunaway C1.0 / C2.0 REV 0, 6/11/2025 (in HOA‑approved package) | Residence 133.2; garages 132.5; TBM 129.69; inlets T/G 130.4–132.0 | Rod P; "(NAVD 1988, 2001 ADJ.)" attached to the FEMA reference | No revision since; conflicts with arch by 0.3 ft |
| Structural | REV 2 (6/4/2026) being built; REV 4 issued 7/23 and re‑issued 8/25/2026 (sealed J. M. Gonzalez); sent to Keystone 8/26 | No absolute elevation; "initial site grading shall be completed prior to setting forms" | relative | Confirm in writing which set governs |
| Grading | KGW: level to ≈132.0 | — | Rod P (implicit) | As‑graded survey not in record |
| Foundation forms | Keystone; forms "ready" 8/24/2026 | Set to ? | unknown control | missing the single most important gap |
| Survey | STS: building corners 7/8/2026 (horizontal only); EC 8/27; TBM purchased 8/24 | 130.5 / 130.3 / 129.0 / 129.3 / 127.0 | Rod S | TBM description and field notes not delivered |
| Speaker (role) | Statement (quoted) | Where | Basis | Supporting / contradicting evidence | Responsible for the subject? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steven Hanson, Ultimate Homes USA / The Paragon Place (GC of record; building 71 Aria Isle) — "Speaker 3" identity inferred from "Thank you Stephen" and Murat's 7/31 & 8/13 emails | "The elevation that they show … is one thirty point oh five … ours is like one thirty point ninety six up the street. The reality is that it's actually right at three feet below … The Woodlands … claim to use monuments … and they no longer exist … they stipulated it in their paperwork that anything … on the island, the elevations have to follow their … monuments or their temporary benchmarks." | Plaud 07‑31, 0:00:36–0:02:26 | His own project's surveys; belief | Plat benchmark note (134.92, "NAVD 29, 64 ADJ.") supports "older control exists"; 130.96 vs 127.98 is disk‑to‑curb at different points; no ESDC document stipulates elevations | No — builder, not RPLS/PE |
| Steven Hanson | "… the Woodlands … will not accept ours … if you have something showing too low Montgomery County won't accept it either." / "one thirty three point five is going to be the minimum finished floor … just right at [the 500‑year]." / "bring your elevation up to at least … one thirty four point five." | 07‑31, 0:06:14, 0:07:11, 0:13:59 | Experience; recommendation | No rejection letter in record; no document sets 133.5 as an HOA minimum; 0.2 % ≈130.0 on the FIS datum | No |
| Scott Lowe, Keystone Concrete | "The finished floor elevation is 133.5 and the natural grade is averaging 132.0. You will need Kenny to just remove the vegetation and level the lot." | Email 6/24/2026 | Read from the site plan (Rod P) | Consistent with arch R3 and Precision | No (contractor) |
| Danielle Noah, STS operations manager | "We previously set the building points for this property, not elevation work." | Email 7/21/2026 | Firm records | Consistent with Quote 35857 trip 1 | Not the RPLS |
| Jennifer Zimmermann, Dunaway (structural PM) | "Precision Surveyors provided the topographic survey, not STSA." / (08‑06) "they just have temporary benchmarks … you have to tie it back to measurable datum and it's not." | Email 8/4/2026; Plaud 08‑06 0:13:00 | Firm file; reading the surveys | Confirmed by this review | Structural — statement is factual |
| Faisal Awad, PMP, Dunaway (civil PM; C1.0 is sealed by K. J. Breckon PE) | "500‑year flood elevation based on fema is set at 129.9' … should still be above the 500 year flood elevation even with −3.0 drop (133.2‑130.2)." | Email 8/4/2026 | FEMA website screenshot | FIS profile ≈130.0; the arithmetic in the email is garbled | Civil firm — yes |
| Faisal Awad (Speaker 5, inferred) | "if it's off by three feet, the surveyor can just lower everything by three feet, and we can update the plans … even if you drop it three feet, we will still be … roughly nine inches above the five hundred year." | Plaud 08‑06, 0:07:36 | Calculation | CALC 133.2 − 3.0 = 130.2 vs 129.9 → 0.3 ft ≈ 4 in; 133.5 − 3.0 = 130.5 → 0.6 ft ≈ 7 in — not 9 in | Civil |
| Faisal Awad | "there is no actual BM nearby … I personally do not see any issues based on the 2 surveys we already have … 129.7' and the other bm … 127.99' … only 1.7' off and not 3.0' … Worse case … your finish floor will still be above the 500‑year elevation." | Email 8/14/2026 | Two surveys on different datums at different points | Precision CR 129.19–129.76 (P) vs DaRam 71 Aria curb 127.99 (D?) — not the same datum; the EC later gave 127.0 (S) | Civil |
| Kanti Bansal (owner side) | "I have not found evidence that the homeowners association … has rejected or disagreed with an elevation supplied by South Texas Surveying Associates." | Memo 7/27/2026 | Document review | Consistent with this review; the memo's "Aria Isle Grading Plan" condition could not be located on the approval | Not a licensed party |
| Ken Anderson, ESDC / KAACM | "The ESDC nor KAACM, Review or Approve Foundations designs." | Email 4/30/2026 | HOA policy | — | HOA reviewer |
| Murat Ozevin | "Could you let me know if this can be used as the Elevation Certificate Per Construction Plan as well? … is this an approval of the form survey, so the concrete crew can come back?" | Email 8/27/2026 2:43 pm | Question | Unanswered | — |
What "the HOA does not agree with the survey elevation" could mean — evidence for each, no choice made. (1) Disputing datum or measurement — no ESDC/KAACM/Woodlands document says so. (2) A separate architectural requirement — the guideline says "Slab elevation must be verified with lot grading plan" and measures the 40‑ft height limit from natural grade; the lot grading plan is not in the record. (3) Comparison with nearby houses — only Steven Hanson's remarks. (4) A neighbourhood benchmark — the plat carries ESL‑16 R1 at 134.92 on "NAVD 29, 64 ADJ."; nothing shows the ESDC requiring its use. (5) Appearance / drainage / permitted floor height — pre‑concrete inspection and the height rule are documented; any elevation check at that inspection is not. (6) An informal statement repeated — the entire "HOA position" enters the record through one builder's account of his own project.
| Conclusion | Confidence | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| 127.56 and 129.69 refer to the same physical mark on two vertical systems. | high | Identical location and neighbours on R2 and R3/Precision; four identical 2.13 differences. |
| The 2.13 shift is a drawing‑office re‑basing, not an independent field measurement. | medium | Uniformity to 0.01 ft; DaRam's own field values differ by 1.6–2.4 ft. |
| The plans being built (arch R3, civil C1.0) rest on an unnamed datum. | high | Notes on both sheets; no datum anywhere. |
| The recorded plat's benchmark is on an old (1929 / 1964) datum, documenting a "Woodlands" control system that is not current NAVD88. | high that the note exists · low that the 130.95 disk is that monument | Plat Sheet 3; no monument description for 130.95. |
| The EC's datum label and benchmark value are inconsistent with each other. | high | NGS datasheet (2001 = 167.49; current = 166.7) vs EC text. |
| The EC values are field readings of the forms on the STS datum. | medium | C1 "Under Construction"; visit 8/25 after forms were ready; STS has not confirmed. |
| On the EC's numbers, margins above the 0.2 % level and the county condition are a few tenths of a foot. | high as arithmetic · low as a statement about the real house | Depends on the label/value question being resolved. |
| The implied inter‑system offsets are mutually inconsistent (3.0 vs 2.2–2.8). | high as arithmetic | Crosswalk table B. |
| No HOA / ESDC / Woodlands document disputes a survey elevation or sets a numeric slab elevation. | high (for the record reviewed) | Approval form, guideline, Ken Anderson email; absence across all searches. |
| The building coordinate is in shaded Zone X, not the SFHA; AE is ≈140 ft from the front‑centre point. | high | NFHL, 8/27/2026. |
| The county condition (2 ft above BFE within 100 ft of SFHA) is on the face of the permit; whether it binds is the county's call. | high | Permit p.1. |
| Nobody has recorded which benchmark Keystone used to set the forms. | high (absence) | All threads searched. |
With items 1–7 in hand, every number in this report can be placed on one line, and the "3 ft" question closes either way.
If two surveys differ only by their ruler, every point measured on both should differ by the same amount. Ten features that can be identified on both sheets (read at 400 dpi; Precision 1″=40′, DaRam 1″=20′; stations from the east parkway manhole near the P.C.):
| Same physical feature | Precision 2023 | DaRam 2025 | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Parkway manhole rim, west (just off the P.R.C.) | 130.66 | 128.81 | 1.85 |
| Parkway manhole rim, east (near the P.C.) | 130.52 | 128.68 | 1.84 |
| The "X" at the inlet / throat — Precision "cut X set"; DaRam "X on top of inlet" | 129.69 | 127.78 | 1.91 |
| Gutter at the throat, just east of the X | 128.91 | 127.05 | 1.86 |
| Curb ~10 ft NE — top of curb / gutter | 129.50 / 129.11 | 127.67 / 127.27 | 1.83 / 1.84 |
| Curb ~33 ft NE — top of curb / gutter | 129.72 / 129.40 | 127.79 / 127.41 | 1.93 / 1.99 |
| Curb ~78 ft NE — top of curb / gutter | 129.88 / 129.52 | 128.12 / 127.70 | 1.76 / 1.82 |
| Road centreline ~21 ft NE | 129.47 | 127.52 | 1.95 |
| Road centreline ~85 ft NE | 129.76 | 127.99 | 1.77 |
| Top of brick wall / top of bank, lake side (four shots) | 131.0–131.1 | 129.2–129.3 | 1.7–1.9 |
Result. Ten independent hard points, two crews two years apart, all within 1.76–1.99 ft (centre ≈ 1.87). That is a constant datum offset inside ordinary two‑crew tolerance — a ruler difference, not a ground change or a blunder. Manhole caveat: DaRam's two rim labels sit between the rims; the pairing shown agrees with the other eight points (the alternative gives 1.98 / 1.71, which agrees with nothing).
Consequences INFER: (1) the R2 sheet's 2.13 shift was not DaRam's field value — DaRam read the X at 127.78, R2 shows 127.56; (2) Precision→DaRam ≈ 1.9 plus DaRam→STS ≈ 0.4–0.6 (road centreline only) implies Precision→STS ≈ 2.3–2.5, not 3.0 — so either the forms sit ≈ 0.5–0.7 ft below "133.5 (P)" or the EC's road point is not comparable; the loop ordered from STS on 8/27 (forms + curb marks, one instrument) decides which; (3) a constant offset says the rulers are offset — it does not say which one is the FEMA datum.
Prepared as a neutral record review. Nothing here authorizes construction or substitutes for the determinations of the licensed surveyor, the engineers of record, the East Shore Design Committee, or Montgomery County.